Reno-Sparks NAACP 2017 Events & Special Occasions

Women Working With Color Forum
Focusing on historic careers and visions for the future. All are welcome.
Speakers: Bernice Martin-Mathews, entrepreneur, former nurse, retired educator, former state senator (D-Reno), former City of Reno councilmember
Patricia Y. Gallimore, President, NAACP Reno-Sparks Branch No. 1112
Cory Hernandez, Associate, The Ramirez Group; Jenny Martinez, City of Reno Civil Service Commission
2:30-4:00 p.m. Thursday, 2 March 2017
University of Nevada-Reno Wells Fargo Center, 200 S. Virginia Suite 100, Reno

Mary P. Johnson, 1931-2017


On Feb. 11, 1960, sixty members of the NAACP appeared at the doors of the whites-only Hawthorne, Nev., casino, the El Capitan, and were refused entry. [Courtesy of Journalist Dennis Myers' Poor Denny's Almanac]

On Feb. 1, 1960, four black college students began a sit-in protest at a lunch counter in Greensboro, N.C., where they'd been refused service. (NY Times)


  —> MONDAY, JANUARY 16, 2017: The 19th Annual MLK Community Memorial Caravan will depart at 10:00 a.m. PST from Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church, 2655 Rock Blvd, Sparks NV 89431. (Annual NNBCAS MLK Dinner will take place in the evening at the Atlantis Hotel-Casino.)

   —> SUNDAY, JANUARY 15, 2017: Northern Nevada Martin Luther King, Jr., Holiday Committee 31st Annual Interfaith Community Memorial Service — 3:00 p.m. PST at Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church, 2655 Rock Blvd, Sparks NV 89431.

The Holiday Committee and Memorial Caravan were founded by The Rev. Onie Cooper (1925-2011), former Reno-Sparks NAACP president. As always, this year's motorcade will travel the stretch of Interstate580/US395 which Rev. Cooper successfully campaigned to have named in honor or Dr. King. Mrs. Mary Cooper continues to serve on the committee. Details about the MLK events may be obtained by contacting Committee Chair Bishop Gene Savoy at (775) 786-1800. The event is co-sponsored by the Nevada Clergy Association.


Back to Reno-Sparks NAACP home page

Site designed and maintained by Deciding Factors
Andrew Barbano, Webmaster